Shaping Up Over the Next 12 Weeks

image
My re-starting point

Precisely 2 days ago, I decided that I needed to shape up- and fast and am now taking the pledge to live a healthy lifestyle and exercise 6 days a week for the next 12 weeks when I will assess results.

You see, I grew up as a ‘chubby’ child and teenager. I was always the bigger one and the one with a lovely face but disappointing body. As a result I always felt like the ugly duckling in my group of friends.

In my final year of school I developed a keen interest in health and nutrition and since then have been exercising and eating healthily on a regular basis.

Unfortunately, though, I am your typical perfectionist, all in or all out was my motto. So when I ‘failed’ in my diet or exercise plan, I decided to abandon it for that day and start again ‘tomorrow’. As wise people say, tomorrow never arrives and so I was trapped, for a long time, in a binge and restrict cycle.

This cycle came to a close when I discovered pole dancing for fitness. I had never seen such quick or effective results and i had never enjoyed such an intense workout so much as I enjoyed this one. After my first term of pole, I became addicted. It wasn’t long before I could do inverts and hang off the pole upside down, with one arm, with one leg- you name it, i tried it. Along with this increased pole ability came a six pack.

Since then I have been striving to become fitter, not for appearance totally but so that I can become a better dancer and do more and more tricks on the pole.

Just before Christmas, I left my studio after finding it too raunchy and fell off the bandwagon. I stopped exercising and ate poorly and felt my depression returning. I tried a couple of times to exercise but was unsuccessful in establishing a routine.

Finally I have decided to set myself a goal. To eat well and exercise 6 times per week, every week for 12 weeks. This is week 1.

I am currently studying to be a personal trainer and will use my professional knowledge to help myself and my readers. I look forward to restarting this journey with you!

11 thoughts on “Shaping Up Over the Next 12 Weeks”

  1. I think that it’s a great plan to commit to 6 workouts per week. Do you have a specific eating/diet plan as well? Best of luck with your new journey!

    Rob

    Like

    1. Thanks weight2lose, it’s definitely going to be a challenge but I’m determined to do it! As for my workout plan, I have compiled a mixture of HIIT, blogilates (pilates) and stretching workouts- I’ll go into more detail about this in later posts. For my diet, I am generally trying to stick to an average bikini competition prep diet and hitting my macro targets to make sure I am getting enough fat and protein in. So I tend to eat a lot of oats, chicken breast, whiting fillet, sweet potato, almond milk and fibrous vegetables! I will go into more detail about my specific diet in a later post as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment